«

»

Top 100 Visited Genealogy Websites

(Genealogy in Time Magazine – March 7, 2016)

For the fifth year, Genealogy in Time Magazine (GiT) has compiled a list of the top 100 most visited genealogy websites in the world. Are your favorite genealogy websites on this list?

Use the 2016 list to help you discover new and interesting ancestral websites. You can also use it to learn about some of the major trends affecting genealogy today. You can learn more info at: Top 100 Website Article.

GiT used the services of Alexa (the internet traffic people) to help rank actual internet traffic to each website. Internet traffic can be a tricky thing to measure. It is more than just the number of visitors to a website. Other important considerations include the amount of content consumed by a typical visitor to the website and the amount of time spent at the website. Thus, their rankings are based on a combination of three factors: visitors, content and time. The result is an objective and independent ranking of the top 100 genealogy websites.


Top 100 Genealogy Websites of 2016     from GenealogyInTime
Magazine
            www.genealogyintime.com
             
Rank Website Category Country Type 2015 Rank Address
1 Ancestry.com records USA pay 1 http://www.ancestry.com/
2 Find A Grave cemetery USA free 3 http://www.findagrave.com/
3 FamilySearch records USA free 2 https://www.familysearch.org/
4 MyHeritage.com family tree USA pay 5 http://www.myheritage.com/
5 Ancestry.co.uk records UK pay 4 http://www.ancestry.co.uk/
6 Geni.com family tree USA pay 7 http://www.geni.com/
7 GeneaNet family tree France pay 6 http://www.geneanet.org/
8 Newspapers.com newspapers USA pay 11 http://www.newspapers.com/
9 Ancestry.com.au records Australia pay 9 http://www.ancestry.com.au/
10 FindMyPast UK records UK pay 10 http://www.findmypast.co.uk/
11 Family Tree DNA DNA testing USA pay 14 http://www.familytreedna.com/
12 Ancestry.ca records Canada pay 13 http://www.ancestry.ca/
13 Archives.com records USA pay 12 http://www.archives.com/
14 MooseRoots search engine USA free n/a http://www.mooseroots.com/
15 WikiTree family tree USA free 15 http://www.wikitree.com/
16 Genealogy.com records USA pay 8 http://genealogy.com/
17 FamilyTreeNow family tree USA free 63 http://www.familytreenow.com/
18 Fold3 records USA pay 21 http://www.fold3.com/
19 Genealogy Bank newspapers USA pay 16 http://www.genealogybank.com/gbnk/
20 GEDmatch DNA testing USA free 31 http://gedmatch.com/
21 Genealogie.com family tree France pay 22 http://www.genealogie.com/
22 FindMyPast.com records USA pay 32 http://www.findmypast.com
23 AncientFaces forum USA free 18 http://www.ancientfaces.com/
24 Genwiki wiki Germany free 29 http://wiki-de.genealogy.net/Hauptseite?
25 MyHeritage.de family tree Germany pay 27 http://www.myheritage.de/
26 USGenWeb Archives records USA free 25 http://usgwarchives.net/
27 Daughters of American Revolution society USA pay 48 http://dar.org/
28 Newspaper Archive newspapers USA pay 23 http://www.newspaperarchive.com/
29 Genes Reunited records UK pay 24 http://www.genesreunited.co.uk/
30 Ancestry.de records Germany pay 52 http://www.ancestry.de/
31 RootsChat forum UK free 17 http://rootschat.com/
32 Mocavo search engine USA pay 20 http://www.mocavo.com/
33 Cyndi’s List links USA free 19 http://cyndislist.com/
34 Billion Graves cemetery USA free 36 http://billiongraves.com/
35 Free BMD records UK free 30 http://www.freebmd.org.uk/
36 MyHeritage.es family tree Spain pay 42 http://www.myheritage.es/
37 myrelatives.com records USA pay 91 http://www.myrelatives.com/
38 JewishGen ethnic heritage USA free 33 http://www.jewishgen.org/
39 Genealogy Today records USA pay 37 http://genealogytoday.com/
40 RootsMagic software USA pay 73 http://www.rootsmagic.com/
41 Genealogie Online family tree Netherlands pay 58 http://www.genealogieonline.nl/
42 MyHeritage.fr family tree France pay 40 http://www.myheritage.fr/
43 Eastman’s Online Newsletter blog USA free 28 http://blog.eogn.com/
44 Arkivverket Digitalarkivet records Norway free 39 http://arkivverket.no/eng/content/view/full/629
45 British Newspaper Archive newspapers UK pay 34 http://www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk/
46 American Ancestors society USA pay 44 http://www.americanancestors.org/
47 Tribal Pages family tree USA pay 50 http://tribalpages.com/
48 Genealogy Trails records USA free 54 http://genealogytrails.com/
49 Statue of Liberty Ellis Island records USA free n/a http://www.libertyellisfoundation.org
50 Steve Morse search engine USA free 55 http://stevemorse.org/
51 ScotlandsPeople records Scotland pay 53 http://www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk/
52 Geneall family tree Portugal free 51 http://www.geneall.net/P/
53 MyHeritage.nl family tree Netherlands pay 46 http://www.myheritage.nl/
54 MyHeritage.no family tree Norway pay 41 http://www.myheritage.no/
55 Family Tree Magazine magazine USA pay 45 http://www.familytreemagazine.com/
56 Roots Ireland records Ireland pay 61 http://www.rootsireland.ie/
57 Legacy Family Tree software USA pay 60 http://www.legacyfamilytree.com/
58 Ancestry.se records Sweden pay 80 http://www.ancestry.se/
59 MyHeritage.pl family tree Poland pay 67 http://www.myheritage.pl/
60 Forces War Records records UK pay 35 http://www.forces-war-records.co.uk/
61 MyTrees family tree USA pay 47 http://www.mytrees.com/
62 World Vital Records records USA pay 38 http://www.worldvitalrecords.com/
63 Genoom family tree Spain free 72 http://www.genoom.com/
64 GenealogyInTime Magazine magazine Canada free 26 http://www.genealogyintime.com/
65 MyHeritage.com.br family tree Brazil pay 88 http://www.myheritage.com.br/
66 FindMyPast Ireland records Ireland pay 75 http://www.findmypast.ie/
67 WieWasWie records Netherlands free 77 https://www.wiewaswie.nl/
68 Fulton History newspapers USA free 64 http://fultonhistory.com/
69 ProGenealogists services USA pay 65 http://www.progenealogists.com/
70 MyHeritage.se family tree Sweden pay 96 http://www.myheritage.se/
71 FamilyLink records USA pay 66 http://www.familylink.com/
72 Death Indexes links USA free 81 http://www.deathindexes.com/
73 Family Tree Webinars magazine USA pay 83 http://www.familytreewebinars.com
74 Commonwealth War Graves records UK free 43 http://www.cwgc.org/
75 FindMyPast Australia records Australia pay 57 http://www.findmypast.com.au/
76 The Legal Genealogist blog USA free 86 http://www.legalgenealogist.com/
77 Ahnenforschung.net forum Germany free 74 http://ahnenforschung.net/
78 MyHeritage.it family tree Italy pay 85 http://www.myheritage.it/
79 Access Genealogy search engine USA free 70 http://www.accessgenealogy.com/
80 Genealogical Society Finland society Finland free 94 http://www.genealogia.fi
81 Genuki records UK free 59 http://genuki.org.uk/
82 Rodovid family tree Ukraine free n/a http://www.rodovid.org/
83 Rotter Sveriges Släktforskarförbunds services Sweden pay n/a http://genealogi.se/
84 ObituariesHelp.org links USA free 98 http://www.obituarieshelp.org/
85 Irish Genealogy records Ireland free 90 http://www.irishgenealogy.ie/
86 Historic Mapworks records USA pay 93 http://www.historicmapworks.com/
87 Forever services USA pay n/a https://www.forever.com/
88 The Genealogist records UK pay 56 http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/
89 Family Tree Maker software USA pay 95 http://familytreemaker.com/
90 GenoPro software USA pay 101 http://www.genopro.com/
91 One Great Family family tree USA pay 105 http://www.onegreatfamily.com/
92 DNAeXplained blog USA free 123 http://dna-explained.com/
93 RecordsBase records USA pay 104 http://www.recordsbase.com/
94 Interment cemetery USA free 78 http://interment.net/
95 Geneabloggers blog USA free 89 http://www.geneabloggers.com/
96 Geneawiki wiki France free 84 http://www.geneawiki.com/
97 Katagogi forum USA free 174 http://www.katagogi.com/
98 Polskie Towarzystwo Genealogiczne society Poland free 76 http://genealodzy.pl/
99 Newspaper Obituaries on Net links USA free 153 http://newspaperobituaries.net/
100 We Relate wiki USA free 79 http://www.werelate.org/
As of March 2016
Switch to mobile version